New Release: Arc of An Arrow Blind

Desertshore's 5 th Studio Album Arc of An Arrow Blind is scheduled for release June 2, 2017.  The album was recorded and mixed at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley by Adam Munoz.  Arc of An arrow blind was Mastered by Mike Wells.  The album features a collection of ethereal new instrumentals that were recorded live in the studio by Phil Carney (guitar), Chris Connolly (Piano/Keyboards) and Mike Wells (Drums).  Recorded over a relatively short period of time, approximately 4 days, minimal overdubs were added to preserve the original musical experience and interaction between the players.  The album covers a wide emotional pallate of melancholy, elation, sorrow, traveling from great expanses to the spaces between small doorways.

Track Listing

  1. Weather In Our Veins
  2. Sky Drifter
  3.  Blurring Together
  4. Arc of An Arrow Blind
  5. Floating
  6. Descend Like The Sun
  7. Doorway Gestures
  8. Night Held in Sudden Grace
  9. To Cross This Great Expanse
  10. After Images (Behind Your Eyes)



Chris Connolly's Alameda makes Uncut's best albums of 2015

Chris Connolly released his first solo piano album in 2009. His second album. Alameda, was released by Caldo Verde Records on May 19, 2015. Chris is part of the collaborative band Desertshore with guitarist Phil Carney and vocalist Mark Kozelek. He has also recorded and toured with Sun Kil Moon. Alameda was recorded in Alameda, California, in 2014/2105.

New Release: Migrations of Glass

Release Date: August 19, 2014

Desertshore announce their second full length instrumental album, 'Migrations of Glass'. It will be released on Darkhan Records on Aug 19th 2014.

'Migrations of Glass' is Desertshore’s fourth record over all and finds them returning to the full instrumental mode of their critically acclaimed debut, ‘Drifting Your Majesty’s’ re-examination of instrumental rock and it’s possibilities.

The two forces behind Desertshore come from quite different directions. Chris Connolly is a classically trained pianist who studied with Julian White and Sharon Mann in California. He is also a biochemist graduating from UC Berkeley. Phil Carney’s history is from the rock world. He played guitar in San Francisco legends, Red House Painters and later, Sun Kil Moon. This melding of rock and classical, atmosphere and craft, defines Desertshore. Their shared interest in ethereal sounds and the fact that neither was afraid of allowing the music to lead them in whatever harmonic direction seems right, unites them.

Sun Kil Moon’s Mark Kozelek makes a brief appearance on this new album playing bass on one song.

Track listing:
1. Glasslight
2. Until Morning Comes (Listen)
3. Crosstown Seven
4. Forevermore (Listen)
5. Tempest Armada
6. Echos de Honfleur
7. Enduro Nocturno
8. The Morning is Open
9. Intermezzo
10. Mesa Verde

New Release: Mark Kozelek & Desertshore

San Francisco's Desertshore features guitarist Phil Carney (formerly of Red House Painters) and classically trained pianist Chris Connolly. Drawing of Threes, the band's second release since their critically acclaimed debut Drifting Your Majesty, includes Mark Kozelek (Sun Kil Moon) as guest vocalist and bassist on several of the album's tracks. Limited Vinyl available in January.


1. Diana
2. Mercy
3. Turtle Pond
4. Randy Quaid
5. Vernon Forrest
6. Molle
7. Light Flowers
8. Pollen Hinges
9. Hellborg
10. Matchlight Arcana

New Release: Mark Kozelek & Desertshore

Release Date: August 20, 2013

Recorded at San Francisco's Hyde Street Studios in March of 2013, Desertshore's 3rd release, Mark Kozelek and Desertshore, features 10 new songs co-written by guitarist Phil Carney (formerly of Red House Painters), pianist Chris Connolly, and Sun Kil Moon vocalist Mark Kozelek. While Kozelek guested as producer, vocalist and bassist on Desertshore's critically acclaimed Drifting Her Majesty and Drawing Of Threes, Mark Kozelek & Desertshore finds Kozelek singing throughout the record's entirety. Lyrical themes range from a day spent in New Orleans, an encounter with Church of Satan founder Anton Lavey, and the passing of friends and relatives. With drummer Mike Stevens (Sun Kil Moon) on board, this album finds the band in full force, making their way from the Motown swing of 'Mariette', to the Crazy Horse guitar innerplay of' 'Livingstone Bramble',to the delicate, Ravel influenced album closer, 'Brothers'.

Track listing:
1. Mariette
2. Livingstone Bramble
3. Hey You Bastards I'm Still Here
4. Katowice Or Cologne
5. Seal Rock Hotel
6. Tavoris Cloud
7. You Are Not Of My Blood
8. Sometimes I Can't Stop
9. Don't Ask About My Husband
10. Brothers

New Release: Desertshore 'Drifting Your Majesty'

Release Date October 19th / Digital Album Available October 19

The debut album by the instrumental band Desertshore featuring keyboardist Chris Connolly and guitarist Phil Carney. Chris Connolly is a classically trained pianist who studied with Julian White and Sharon Mann in California. Phil Carney played guitar in San Francisco legends, Red House Painters and later, Sun Kil Moon.

TRACK LISTING: 1. Black Mirror Water 2. The Town Alight 3. Mojave Mirage 4. Gwynnedd 5. Beautiful Descent 6. Darkhan 7. Drifting Your Majesty 8. Koko 9. Plataea 10. Right Favor 11. Sixteen Drawers 12. Jordan Heavyhand 13. Maurice In Reflection 14. Deep Forest Echoes